African Okavango delta

Okavango delta
African World’s largest inland Delta. Unlike most Deltas

The Okavango Delta is arguably Botswana’s most famous area, popular for its rich wildlife, water-based safaris, and commitment to low-impact tourism. The delta is a fascinating region to discover. Here are just a few interesting Okavango Delta facts that you might not have known before.

  • it’s a UNESCO World Heritage Site

On 22 June 2014, the Okavango Delta was proclaimed the 1,000th UNESCO World Heritage Site. This decision was based on the fact that the delta – one of the largest inland deltas in the world – is one of the few major delta systems that doesn’t flow into the ocean or the sea. Other Okavango Delta facts that played a part in this decision are that the River Okavango floods during the dry season and that the delta is home to endangered animals such as black and white rhinos, wild dogs, lions, and cheetahs.

  • There Are Over 150,000 Islands in the Delta

The Okavango Delta is made up of over 150,000 islands, some tiny, others more than 10km long. The largest island in the delta is Chief’s Island, which is around 70km long and 14km wide. Once the private hunting reserve of a chief, it is now one of the best places to spot wildlife in the delta and home to some of the top luxury lodges.

  •  There Are Restrictions on Tourism to Keep the Delta Wild

One of the best things about visiting the Okavango Delta is that it feels truly wild and remote. The Botswana government controls the amounts of tourists and camps that are allowed in this area. This means there is no risk of overtourism and animals aren’t harassed by dozens of vehicles.

  • The Okavango Floodwaters Arrive from the Angolan Highlands